Posted by: Ms. Matson | January 1, 2010

2010 Reading List

I was looking over my collection of book lists and figured I ought to put it all into one list in the hopes that it will help me complete it.  Here’s a list of all the books I hope to read over the next year.  I’ll probably I know I’ll end up passing on some and picking up others as I see good reviews, but at least I have a starting point.  My priority will be the books listed in the TBR Challenge.  Over winter break I’ve been working through Harry Potter again, and I’ll probably try to finish that before I pick these up, but I haven’t listed them.  I’m currently half-way through Order of the Phoenix.

Anyway, here’s my 2010 reading list, in alphabetical order:

Fiction

A Curse Dark As Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce
Artemis Fowl Book 1 by Eoin Colfer finished 5/29/10
As You Like It by William Shakespeare
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress by Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke
Crossed Wires by Rosy Thornton
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
First Light by Rebecca Stead
Forest Born by Shannon Hale finished 2/6/10
Genesis by Bernard Beckett
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones finished 1/11/10
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins finished 8/28/10
Jane Austen Ruined My Life by Beth Patillo
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Mimosa by Amy Carmichael
Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro finished 6/18/10
Oracles of Delphi Keep by Victoria Laurie
Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis
Peace Like a River by Leif Enger
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith
Sweethearts by Sara Zarr finished 6/11/10
Ten Cents a Dance by Christine Fletcher
The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary Pearson
The Amaranth Enchantment by Julie Berry
The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare
The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams
The Divine Comedy: The Inferno by Dante
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery
The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
The Explosionist by Jenny Davidson finished 2/19/10
The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa finished 7/13/10
The Inferior by Peadar Ó Guilín
The Invention of Hugo Cabrey by Brian Selznick
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
The Last Queen by CW Gortner
The Line by Teri Hall
The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall
The Resistance by Gemma Malley
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
The Willoughbys by Lois Lowry
The Year of the Dog by Grace Lin
This World We Live In by Susan Beth Pfeffer finished 6/12/10
To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
When We Were Saints by Han Nolan
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

Non-Fiction

A Different Kind of Teacher by John Taylor Gatto
Cultural Literacy by E.D. Hirsch
Democracy in America by Alexis de Tocqueville
Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesteron
Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi
Real Education by Charles Murray
Slackernomics by Dale Franks
Surprised by Hope by N. T. Wright
The Early Church by Henry Chadwick
The Prodigal Tongue by Mark Abley
Why Don’t Students Like School by Daniel T. Willingham
Your Jesus Is Too Safe by Jared C. Wilson

Here’s to another year of good reading!

Responses

  1. Great selections-I admire how organized you are-on the list last year I posted on 3 of them-Little Chinese Seamstress who loved Balzac, The Elegance of the Hedgehog, and The Book Thief-I loved each of these books-on the list I have read The Pendricks, The Divine comedy by Dante, the Life of Pi, and the time traveler’s wife

  2. Mel – thanks for stopping by. Well, I try to be organized, or at least start that way. I never stay organized. Looks like you love some good books, too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

