Posted by: teachergirl | December 29, 2009

TBR 2010 Challenge

Here’s another challenge for me, the To Be Read (TBR) Challenge.  It’s pretty self-explanatory, but here are the rules from MizB, the host:

** Pick 12 books – one for each month of the year – that you’ve been wanting to read (that have been on your “To Be Read” list) for 6 months or longer, but haven’t gotten around to.

** OPTIONAL: Create a list of 12 “Alternates” (books you could substitute for your challenge books, given that a particular one doesn’t grab you at the time)

** Then, starting January 1, read one of these books from your list each month, ending December 31. )

This is an easy challenge to join because we all have lists of books we want to read, whether it’s an actual list, a bookshelf, or just mental notes.  My list for the challenge is a mixture of books I’ve had on my Amazon wish list for a while, books that I’ve owned for years but never read, and books from my 2009 reading list that I never got to.  I tried to pick books from different genres, as well as old and new titles, so I’ll have a variety to choose from.

My Main TBR 2010 List (in no particular order):

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro finished 6-18-10
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
The Early Church by Henry Chadwick
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress by Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke
Peace Like a River by Leif Enger
The Willoughbys by Lois Lowry
The Invention of Hugo Cabrey by Brian Selznick
A Different Kind of Teacher by John Taylor Gatto
Why We Teach by Linda Alston

Alternate List (again, in no particular order):

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall
Forest Born by Shannon Hale, finished 2/6/10
The Year of the Dog by Grace Lin
As You Like It by William Shakespeare
The Divine Comedy: The Inferno by Dante
Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis
Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesteron
Democracy in America by Alexis de Tocqueville
The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare
Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen
Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi
Cultural Literacy by E.D. Hirsch

I’ll try to write a little something as I read each book.  I can’t wait to start!

** Pick 12 books – one for each month of the year – that you’ve been wanting to read (that have been on your “To Be Read” list) for 6 months or longer, but haven’t gotten around to.

** OPTIONAL: Create a list of 12 “Alternates” (books you could substitute for your challenge books, given that a particular one doesn’t grab you at the time)

** Then, starting January 1, read one of these books from your list each month, ending December 31. )

Responses

  1. […] good reviews, but at least I have a starting point.  My priority will be the books listed in the TBR Challenge.  Over winter break I’ve been working through Harry Potter again, and I’ll probably […]

  2. […] challenges: Finally get to knock one off the TBR Challenge, and I’m going to count this on the 2010 Challenge under the TBR category. Possibly related […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

