Posted by: teachergirl | December 29, 2009

Favorite Books of 2009

When I started thinking about the books I loved this year, the first that came to mind was The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale.  It’s such a perfect retelling of a little known Grimm tale.  I loved Isi’s character and the way she grew over the story.  Hale’s language is captivating.   The Goose Girl is probably my favorite book of all I’ve read in 2009.

Other favorites:

Life as We Knew It and it’s sequel, The Dead and the Gone, by Susan Beth Pfeffer.  They’re both excellent apocalyptic novels for the middle grades.  I don’t think I’ll ever look at the moon in the same way.  I’m anxious for the third book to come out in the spring.

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli, and it’s sequel, Love, Stargirl.  I want to meet Stargirl, and I want to be the teacher that reaches out to the Stargirl in my class or community.  We should all be as curious and uninhibited as Stargirl.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is definitely my favorite among the dystopian stories I read this year.  I just finished reading the sequel, Catching Fire, and find that these books offer a refreshing and highly personal take on the theme of authoritarian and dysfunctional societies.

Noticing a theme?  Apparently book series grabbed my attention this year.  When I find an author I enjoy I tend to read them more rather than picking up a new author every time.  I ought to diversify a little.

2009 brought lots of good stories and opened me to the wonderfully rich world that is middle grade and young adult fiction.  At least I can use the excuse that I read them because I work in education.  I can’t wait to see the places books will lead me in 2010.

Leave a Reply

Categories

