Posted by: teachergirl | June 25, 2009

Love, Stargirl

Love, Stargirllove stargirl
Jerry Spinelli
New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2007
YA Realistic Fiction
AR Level: 3.8

Love, Stargirl is the sequel to Spinelli’s Stargirl.  It is written as a series of letters from Stargirl to Leo, though it’s more like a diary since she doesn’t send them.  I’m not sure, but I think I like this even better than Stargirl, which I loved.  Readers see a more complete picture of Stargirl because she is very introspective in her letters, pondering her own actions, motives, and thoughts, and sometimes confronting her fears.  Stargirl has returned to homeschooling, which allows us to see how she interacts with the community, rather than the very narrow environment of high school.   I love that she develops friendships with people outside her peer group, claiming as her best friend a very rambunctious six year old, Dootsie.  Stargirl is able once again to bring a community together, albeit briefly.  I think that is what I enjoyed most about this novel – the interactions of the community.  It made me want to live in a small town, to have that kind of kinship.  Maybe I just wish there was a Stargirl in my life.

Overall, a good book; good enough to own.

Responses

  1. […] by Jerry Spinelli, and it’s sequel, Love, Stargirl.  I want to meet Stargirl, and I want to be the teacher that reaches out to the Stargirl in my […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

